### **EXPLANATION OF SPECIAL AWARDS**

At the conclusion of the Phi Rho Pi National Tournament a number of special awards are presented to students, coaches and schools. Many of the individuals we honor in naming special awards are no longer with us but were instrumental in making this one of the best speech and debate organizations in the nation. A full explanation of each of these important awards can be found on the Phi Rho Pi website. I strongly encourage you to read the explanation of each of these awards

#### The Huffer-Goldman Award (Interpreter's Theatre)

The Huffer-Goldman Award is named after Madge Huffer of Mesa College in Colorado and Bernard Goldman of Los Angeles Trade-Technical in California. Madge served as secretary of Phi Rho Pi for many years. Bernard Goldman was the founder of Interpreter's Theatre at our National Tournament and Chairman of the Awards Committee for many years. The Huffer-Goldman award is voted on by students competing in Interpreter's Theatre for the I.T. they believe exhibits the finest qualities in the event.

#### The Bell-Scroggins Award (Parliamentary, IPDA, NFA-LD Debate Top Speaker)

The Bell-Scroggins Award is named after Jack Bell from Pasadena City College and Jack Scroggins from the College of Sequoias, both in California. These two individuals were instrumental in the organization during the 1950's. The award goes to the top speakers in Parliamentary Debate, NFA-LD and IPDA based upon prelim speaker points.

# The Lynch-Grossman Award (IPDA Debate)

The Lynch-Grossman Award is named after Ken Lynch of Sacramento City College and Craig Grossman from Irvine Valley College, both in California. Ken Lynch served as President of Phi Rho Pi and hosted many of our National Tournaments in the 1980's. Craig Grossman also served as President of Phi Rho Pi and National Tournament Director. This award is presented to the outstanding student in IPDA and is voted on by students competing in this event.

# Fish-Nelson Award (NFA L/D Debate)

The Fish-Nelson award is named after Duane Fish of Northwest College in Wyoming and Mark Nelson from Santa Rosa Junior College in Northern California. Duane Fish has served as the National Tournament Director for many years. Mark Nelson is an outstanding debate coach, has served as Regional Governor and been a member of the Tournament Committee for many years. This award is presented to the outstanding student in NFA Lincoln/Douglas debate and is voted on by students competing in this event.

#### **Bossard-Twohy Award (Parliamentary Debate)**

The Bossard-Twohy is named after Allan Bossard of Ricks College in Idaho and the late Kevin Twohy of Diablo Valley College in California. Both of these men were outstanding debate coaches and respected by all in the organization. Students competing in Parliamentary Debate are eligible to vote for this award. It goes to the Parliamentary Team that exhibits the finest qualities in Parliamentary Debate.

### The Warren-Dahlin Award (Student Fellowship Award)

The Warren/Dahlin award is named after Neal Warren from the College of Eastern Utah and Ray Dahlin from Palomar College in California. Neal Warren served as Treasurer of Phi Rho Pi for many years and was an outstanding coach. Ray Dahlin served as President of Phi Rho Pi and Tournament host. The Warren/Dahlin Award is voted on by all competitors. It is also called the Student Fellowship Award.

# The Collie-Taylor Award (Coach Fellowship Award)

The Collie/Taylor award is named after Jim Collie from the College of Dupage in Illinois and Peg Taylor from Orange Coast College in California. Both Jim and Peg served as National Officers and were outstanding coaches. This award is also referred to as the Coaches Fellowship Award.

# **Bovero-Tabor Award (Outstanding Student Speaker)**

The Bovero-Tabor Award is named after Carl Bovero of Pasadena College and Ron Tabor from Cerritos College, both in California. Carl Bovero was an outstanding coach in the 1950's and served as President of Phi Rho Pi. Ron Tabor also served as a National Officer and will always be remembered as an outstanding debate coach. This award is given to the student who earns the greatest number of gold, silver or bronze medals.